Hi! My name is Ajah (pronounced like the continent Asia). I’m 23 years old and live in Harlem, NY. I like to read, write, eat, and learn. And I’m currently obsessed with Ariana Grande. I currently work for the Harlem Children’s Zone as an After-School Program Aide and I love my job. I enjoy working with kids and plan to do so for the rest of my life. I have dreams of finishing school to become either a child life specialist or a social worker in a school. My love and want to help kids comes from my own personal hardships growing up. I have sickle cell disease, and because of it I endured bullying, missed a bunch of school, had teachers who didn’t always believe I was sick, and was constantly in and out of the hospital and doctors offices. This made growing up hard and I didn’t have someone to advocate for me when I needed it, so I make it my goal to be a better advocate for myself, others, and kids who don’t have that. People often tell me I have the “personality” or traits of a teacher or social worker. This makes me feel good knowing I make people feel comfortable around me and knowing I have a warm and inviting personality. I don’t have any pets but my dream pet is a bearded dragon.

Roommate Perk

My #roommateperks may be that I will be your quietest roommate. I won’t disturb you with loud music or visitors and if I do, you’ll only have to tell me once. I’m also a very good listener who will give advice when wanted, but I believe sometimes people need to ramble to feel better, and I’ll be the one to listen. I also love a clean house and will contribute to keeping it clean as much as possible. I’m not the greatest cook, but I’ll be happy to play assistant to you while you do your thing!

Ideal roommate

My ideal roommate(s) would all be women, people who identify as women, around my age (early to late 20s). I’m not completely against living with men but I’ve never lived with another man besides my dad, so it would take a bit to get comfortable.

Apartment applying for