My name is Thapelo Masita. I am a professional cellist and doctoral student originally from South Africa. I have been living in NYC for 4 years. I earn money as a freelance performer and teacher in the city. I like to take long walks, cook food, read and eat good food. I love attending music events and visiting galleries when I have the time. I do not have pets but I think animals are cool. I enjoy nice wine and am also 420 friendly. I am a chill and happy guy but can also be quite energetic. I am pretty independent but I also do enjoy getting to know new people. I am a member of the LGBTQ community. Given that I am a cellist I am often practicing at home in my room but I do not practice before 10 am or after 11 pm.

Roommate Perk

I cook great stews and Indian curry. I’ll always have good wine. I am a good listener but not intrusive. I am clean and quite well organized. I cello sounds great and is not too loud so you’ll get to hear that if you’re home while I’m practicing. I’m quite a positive guy so I generally give good vibes.

Ideal roommate

My ideal roommate is someone who is a professional or stable graduate student. I am looking for someone who is able to keep to themselves but willing to hangout if the vibe is right. I’m not looking to live with someone that has a pet. I’d love to live with someone who is clean and respectful of boundaries. I generally like a calm apartment. Guests are ok but hopefully not too often. I generally like the apartment to be a safe space for rest and relaxation. My ideal roommate would feel the same but still be ok with guests every now and then.

I am happy to live with men or women. I like an apartment with BIPOC folks and members of the LGBTQ community. These things are obviously not deal breakers but would be nice. I really don’t want to have pets in the house. I just want to live with chill and respectful people who are generally independent but able to hang when the vibe is right.

Apartment applying for