I was born in South Korea and immigrated to California when I was 11 years old. I graduated from UC Berkeley and the London School of Economics and spent some time traveling and writing. I currently work as an editorial associate for Elsevier (an academic publisher) and have a couple of freelance roles on the side. As a hobby, I like to read novels, paint, and visit galleries! I don’t have any pets but have lived with cats and enjoyed it. I am excited to be moving to NYC and hope to make it my long-term home 🙂

Roommate Perk

I am a good cook (always willing to share food and wine; I’ll bring spices and great olive oil!) and very mellow. Though I work remotely, I spend a lot of time in cafés, co-working spaces, and independent seminars so I won’t be the roommate that’s around 24/7 — though on Sundays I like to sleep in and lounge around with a book, if I can.

Ideal roommate

My ideal roommate is a female in their twenties or early thirties, with a laid-back, easygoing personality. I appreciate a mid-high level of cleanliness but am not too bothered if there’s some used dishes in the sink for a day, since I know everyone has busy lives. Someone who has respect for privacy and sleep, as well as a willingness to openly (but always nicely) communicate any grievances, would be great. A deal breaker would be stealing and/or ruining my personal belongings (though I am always happy to share and understand accidents do happen). I would like to keep as much of the apartment shoe-free as possible.

Apartment applying for